• Join
  • Login
  • Contact

Grants and opportunities

The YPG aims to support young pharmacist members from around the globe who have limited resources for professional organisation involvement or their own research. There are several grants that YPG members are eligible to apply:

- The Ton Hoek Scholarship for Young Leaders

- The FIP Congress Travel Scholarship

The Young Pharmacists/Pharmaceutical Scientists Grant for Professional Innovation

The Mike How Travel Award

Young Pharmacists/Pharmaceutical Scientists Grant for Professional Innovation

This YPG grant for professional innovation consists of €1,000 for the implementation of a project by a young pharmacist/pharmaceutical scientist who is a YPG member. Projects can stem from any field of pharmacy (practice, science or education) but should directly or indirectly benefit or improve health of communities and demonstrate the added value of pharmacy on health. Pending the acceptance of a project report, the awardee may, in addition, be granted complementary registration, a return APEX airfare and hotel accommodation to attend the 82nd FIP congress in Cape Town, South Africa.

Judging - Applications are evaluated based on five criteria: significance & relevance, creativity & innovation, scientific accuracy, feasibility, and clarity of communication.

Grant conditions - The grant recipient is expected to submit a project report to the FIP Foundation for Education and Research and to present on the winning project at the 82nd FIP congress in Cape Town, South Africa. He or she will also be obliged to submit interim reports and updates as required by the YPG or the FIP Foundation.

How to apply: Applications for 2020 will be opened as soon as possible.

Here are some Tips for Success and Pointers for Professional Innovation Grant Application that might help you in your application.

Recent professional innovation awardees include:


2019: Shepard Nqobile Mhlaba, Zimbabwe

Shepard Mhlaba is a Young Pharmacist from Zimbabwe, with keen interest
in Global Health. He has served the International Pharmaceutical Federation
Young Pharmacists Group as a Subcommittee Member and is currently serving FIP
as Global Lead for Pharmaceutical Workforce Development Hub. His
research on integrating supply chain management practices in community
pharmacies and information technology was inspired by the disheartening
poor supply chain practices affecting developing countries. This has resulted
in significant expired medicines. His research aims to improve access to
medicines and also to give a step towards universal health coverage by
ensuring effective use of available scarce resources.

Jack Collins, Australia           

2018: Jack Collins, Australia

Jack is a PhD candidate at The University of Sydney and a practising
community pharmacist in Australia. Jack’s area of research is the role
of the community pharmacy in consumer  self-care. His project explores
whether implicit (unconscious) racial bias is present in practising
community pharmacists  through the use of simulated patients. Through
this pilot  research, Jack aims to determine to what extent implicit racial
bias is present and then use these findings to go on to explore other
potential biases and eventually develop interventions to address this
bias to improve the uniformity of patient care regardless of patient


Chelsea Thorn, Australia


2017: Chelsea Thorn, Australia

Chelsea is a PhD candidate from the University of  South Australia
and a registered pharmacist in Australia. Her project focuses on
identifying new solutions to treat highly tolerant bacterial infections
relating to biofilms. The direction is to deliver antibiotics with
biofilm-dispersing enzymes through a nano-carrier delivery formulation.
With the innovative formulation, Chelsea is attempting to improve
the efficacy of infection treatment, especially for the drug-tolerant


Ekpenyong Aniekan, Nigeria


2016: Ekpenyong Aniekan, Nigeria

Ekpenyong’s project was about developing adequate human
resources for pharmacy in developing countries. It was piloted
in Nigeria and involved using data to make a five-year trend
assessment and in-depth analysis of the pharmacy
workforceacross 36 states to inform workforce planning
and policy development.




2015 Arcelio Benetoli, Australia

Arcelio was a PhD candidate in Pharmacy Practice at the University
of Sydney, and before that received his MSc in Pharmaceutical
Sciences from the State University of Maringa,
Brazil. His research focused on how consumers use social
media for health purposes. The research comprised an
observational study which identified chronic disease public
Facebook groups whose content was
quantitatively and qualitatively analysed and consumer focus
groups. Understanding how consumers use social media
will assist health care providers in guiding consumers in
their social media health journey; and importantly, help design
innovative ways to deliver care via social media, accessing
people who may not visit health care professionals regularly.


2014 Vivian Tong, Australia

Vivian was a PhD Candidate at the University of Sydney. Her PhD
focus was on optimising written medicine information
to support safe and appropriate consumer use of over-the-counter
medicines. The research focus for the YPG grant was to develop
and test alternative standardised over-the-counter medicine
label formats. The new labels were informed by consumer
opinions and good information design. Vivian found that the
new labels performed well when user tested and consumers
were able to find and understand key points of information
about their medicine.


Mike How Travel Award

The Mike How Travel Award was created in 2007 in honour of Mike How who dedicated much of his time and efforts in the promotion of industrial pharmacy, particularly towards young pharmacists and pharmacy students. The award is granted to young pharmacists or pharmacy students who have shown keen interest and passion for industrial pharmacy.

The Mike How Travel Award is a collaboration between the YPG, FIP’s Industrial Pharmacy Section, and the International Pharmaceutical Students' Federation (IPSF). It supports YPG or IPSF members involved in the development, manufacturing and regulatory aspects of pharmaceuticals and includes:

Up to €1,000 to be used in support of transport, accommodation and registration for the annual FIP congress
Free attendance to Industrial Pharmacy Section pre-satellite workshops at the FIP congress
Invitation to the Industrial Pharmacy Section dinner

How to apply: Applications for 2020 will be open as soon as possible.   



The 2019 Mike How awardee was Bakani Mark Ncube, a 2019 B.Pharm (Hons.) graduate of the University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe.

Mike How awardee 2018 Isaac Nii Ofoli Anang  

The 2018 Mike How awardee was Isaac Nii Ofoli Anang, a sixth year PharmD student at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana.


Mike How awardee was Isaac Nii Ofoli Anang




The 2017 Mike How awardee was Muoh Joanne Chinemerem, a fifth year PharmD student at Kwame Nkrumah University Of Science And Technology, Ghana.



YPG Mentorship Programme

The mentorship programme is organised by YPG and FIP Bureau with the aiming to support young pharmacists and pharmaceutical scientists with their career development, inside and outside of FIP. Through matching a mentor and mentee with similar interest in pharmacy or pharmaceutical science, the mentee will receive useful advice and guidance within his/her career path.

Mentoring Programme is being reviewed to make it better for our members. The new programme will be launched at the end of the year. Please email ypg ( for further queries

Last update 14 October 2019

FIP Congresses